Skip to content
Ed S - PV Financial



Peter Leonczyk 2 - PV Financial



Antonio Bastos - PV Financial



Ryan 2 - PV Financial



Kevin Sylvester - PV Financial



Kelly H - PV Financial




While many advisors call themselves financial planners, only those who have fulfilled the certification and renewal requirements of the CFP Board can use the CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNERTM certification. To earn and maintain this certification, CFP® professionals must meet the following requirements.

  • Education: CFP® professionals develop theoretical and practical financial planning knowledge by completing a comprehensive course of study at a college or university offering a financial planning curriculum approved by the CFP Board.
  • Examination: CFP® practitioners must pass a comprehensive, six-hour CFP® Certification Examination that tests their ability to apply financial planning knowledge in an integrated format. The exam covers the financial planning process, tax planning, employee benefits and retirement planning, estate planning, investment management, and insurance.
  • Experience: Because CFP® professionals must have at least three years of hands-on experience in the financial planning process, they possess financial counseling skills in addition to technical knowledge.
  • Ethics: CFP® practitioners agree to abide by a strict code of professional conduct, known as the CFP Board’s Code of Ethics and Professional Responsibility, which sets forth their ethical responsibilities to the public, clients, and employers. The CFP Board also performs a background check on candidates for CFP® certification, who must disclose any investigations or legal proceedings related to their professional or business conduct.


Advisors who have earned the Accredited Investment Fiduciary® (AIF®) designation have acquired a thorough knowledge of fiduciary responsibilities. AIF® designees are required to successfully completed a program on investment fiduciary standards of care at the Center for Fiduciary Studies and have passed a comprehensive examination of the Center’s 27 Prudent Investment Practices. Designees are also required to adhere to continuing professional education requirements, which keep them abreast of recent events in the industry.


The Certified Plan Fiduciary Advisor (CPFA®) designation identifies financial advisors specializing in retirement plans like 401(k)s. Administered by the National Association of Plan Advisors, the CPFA® demonstrates expertise in managing retirement savings and prioritizing clients’ best interests. This translates to helping clients assess their financial situation, set retirement goals, and receive guidance on effectively managing their retirement savings.


The Chartered Retirement Plans Specialist (CRPS®) is a professional who holds a designation demonstrating expertise in designing, implementing, and maintaining retirement plans for businesses. Awarded by the College for Financial Planning, this designation signifies a strong understanding of relevant regulations, investment options, and best practices in the field of employer-sponsored retirement plans. CRPS® professionals can help businesses navigate the complexities of setting up and managing retirement plans, ensuring employees have access to appropriate savings vehicles for their future.


The Chartered Financial Consultant® (ChFC®) program provides in-depth knowledge of the skills needed to perform comprehensive financial planning for clients. ChFC® practitioners specialize in identifying and establishing specific financial goals for their clients, as well as formulating, implementing, and monitoring comprehensive plans to pursue them. Candidates must meet prescribed ethical, experiential, and educational requirements to earn the designation.


The Chartered Life Underwriter® (CLU®) designation is the professional credential for individuals who specialize in life insurance and estate planning. The CLU® program provides in-depth knowledge of various insurance solutions and prepares candidates to serve the needs of their individual and business clients. To earn the designation, candidates must meet prescribed ethical, experiential, and educational requirements.


The CCFS® (Certified College Funding Specialist™) designation signifies expertise in helping families navigate the complexities of financing higher education. Awarded by the Association of Certified College Funding Specialists, it’s the leading credential in the field, demonstrating knowledge in financial aid, scholarships, tax optimization, and cost-saving strategies. CCFS® professionals guide families through the funding process, maximize financial aid opportunities, and develop personalized plans to ensure informed decisions for their children’s education.


The Investment Adviser Certified Compliance Professional (IACCP®) designation signifies expertise in navigating the regulatory landscape for investment advisors. Administered by the Investment Adviser Association, it demonstrates a strong understanding of the Investment Advisers Act of 1940 and related regulations. IACCP® professionals serve as compliance specialists within investment advisory firms, ensuring adherence to ethical and legal requirements. They play a crucial role in safeguarding client interests, mitigating risk, and fostering a culture of compliance within their firms.

Why do these designations matter?

Advisors who have earned these designations have committed a great deal of time educating themselves on industry-standard practices in financial planning, investment management, and regulatory compliance. Designees are expected to incorporate what they’ve learned into their practices.

  • Most certifications require designees to serve in a fiduciary capacity, acting in their clients’ best interest and minimizing potential conflicts of interest.
  • In addition to the knowledge they gain earning a particular credential, most sponsor organizations require the designees to earn a certain number of continuing education credits each year to keep up with industry developments.